Team Awesome for Tamarack Ottawa Race Weekend 2017!

So this happened:  I’ve been selected by the organizers of Tamarack Ottawa Race Weekend (TORW) to be part of Team Awesome, 2017 Edition!

team-awesome-2017-logo

The team is comprised of over 20 runners who are participating in TORW.  Our goal is to generate some energy & enthusiasm for the 2017 TORW event (May 27-28), and to build a sense of community among runners participating in the weekend.

I’m honoured and privileged to be part of this great crew, and you’ll be hearing from me and the rest of the team over the next 7 months.  There will be tweetups, group runs, blog posts, updates on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram, and so much more.  Be sure to follow the #RunOttawa2017 hashtag and @RunOttawa Twitter handle!

One of the perks of being part of Team Awesome is that we also get to run in the event of our choice during TORW.  I originally signed up for the half … but given that it will be 2017 and the 150th birthday of Canada, I’ve decided to supersize my participation and run the full!  I ran the Ottawa Marathon in 2014 under way-less-than-ideal conditions (SO.VERY.HOT!), so I want another kick at the beast.

tracy-at-national-gallery-27k-alison-photo

Ottawa Marathon 2014 – clearly the heat wasn’t affecting my spirits TOO much … #NoSpongeLeftBehind

I’m nursing a couple of injuries right now, but am confident that between now and May I can do some rehab and build up my strength for the full 42.2-km adventure!

Those who know me well, also know that I run for causes.  I currently run for Imerman Angels, a charity that connects cancer fighters & their caregivers, with those who have been through it and come out the other end.  I hope to use my Team Awesome experience to encourage others to run for one or more worth causes during TORW!  It’s such a fulfilling way to match your running passion to making the world a better place for those who need a bit of help.  Contact me if you want some guidance on this front … I would love to engage any runner considering making a difference.

084

Chicago Marathon 2015 – for Imerman Angels

The rest of the team will be announced by Run Ottawa on Sunday, November 20 – much, much more to come.  Until then, keep running, stay connected and stay tuned!

–Tracy

 

Leave a Reply

