Running for a Cause in 2017

Hi all, and Happy 2017!  It’s going to be an interesting – and busy! – year …

team-awesome-2017-logoMost of you know that I will run the Ottawa Marathon on May 28.  I originally registered for the Half, but thought I would “upsize” my participation in Tamarack Ottawa Race Weekend (TORW) 2017 when I was named to Team Awesome, a group of runners who are raising visibility/awareness of, and excitement around, TORW.

So – the old body willing, I’ll run 42.2km on Sunday, May 28.  May the weather gods look upon us favourably that day (they most definitely did NOT in 2016!).

If you know me well, you know that I have a passion about running to help others.  I’ve raised a lot of money in recent years for the Leukemia & Lymphoma Society of Canada, for CHEO (via the Sears Run), for Candlelighters, and most recently, for Imerman Angels.

As part of Team Awesome and TORW 2017, I thought I would dedicate my 2017 marathon to one of the charities supported by the Scotiabank Charity Challenge (hashtag #RunScotia).  I gave the list of charities a look, and one stood out as an obvious choice to me:  the Royal Foundation for Mental Health.

Why the Royal?  There are a few reasons:

  • In today’s crazy, hectic world, more of us than ever struggle – often silently – with mental illness.  It’s one of those things that tends not to get as much attention as it should, due to social stigma … so I thought, why not help out this worthy cause?
  • The Royal does a TON of work to help those who suffer from mental illness, including critical research and advocacy services (it is one of Canada’s leading centres in this regard).  Funds raised for the Royal, as a result, are amplified beyond just the local community.
  • Finally – and most important to me personally – a very dear/close family friend, Helen O’Brien, devoted her entire career to the Royal, spending well over 50 years there helping patients.  Helen passed away in November, and I would like to do something for the Royal as a nod to Helen, and as a gesture of love & support for all that she did and all that she was to me and my family.  We miss you, Murfff.
tracy-helen-tys-wedding

Helen O’Brien with me at my brother’s wedding, August, 2010

Run Ottawa and Scotiabank make it very easy for me to support the Royal, and to reach out to my family, friends and colleagues to donate and make a difference to this worthy cause.  So you’ll be hearing from me soon.  Thanks in advance to all of you who will support me.

If you’re still reading this and want to make a difference – here’s the place to go … I’ve set a personal fundraising goal of $2017 for obvious reasons!

Tracy’s Donation Page – Ottawa Marathon 2017 (tax receipts will be issued)

In the meantime – out into the cold winter I go, to start training for May 29!  Hard to imagine now, but the race is just around the corner.

One thought on “Running for a Cause in 2017

  1. Just want to say that not only is Tracy a great athlete he is an even better person and I have no doubt that came from Ron and Jackie!

Leave a Reply

